VISION IN THE VALLEY BOOK DISCUSSION

Vision in the Valley 2012

After the wonderful success of our first online Book Group in partnership with Accessible World in October of 2011, we have lined up selections and times for 2012. We will be calling our group Vision in the Valley because our home base is in the lovely Lebanon Valley in southeastern Pennsylvania.
We encourage anyone to join in, from anywhere to help improve our discussions.

We've decided to focus mainly on non-fiction this year as it seems somewhat unrepresented among the current online groups at Accessible World. Our first title will be Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, and will take place on Thursday, January 12, 2012 at 3 p.m. EST, 2 p.m. CST, 1 p.m. MST, and Noon PST.

According to the Publisher as cited on Amazon.com. Author Barbara "Kingsolver and her family abandoned the industrial-food pipeline to live a rural life-vowing that, for one year, they'd only buy food raised in their own neighborhood, grow it themselves, or learn to live without it. Part memoir, part journalistic investigation, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is an enthralling narrative that will open your eyes in a hundred new ways to an old truth: You are what you eat."

Even if you haven't read this recently, anyone with opinions on the popular 'eat local' and 'eat seasonally' ideas will be able to add to our discussion. Gardeners, farmers, chefs, parents, and grocery shoppers all have an interest in the puzzle of our food distribution across the U.S. and the World.

All of our book groups in the future will take place on the second Thursday of the following months, at the same time: 3 p.m. EST etc. We have checked that all titles chosen are available in audio from the NLS service, Audible, and Bookshare.

January 12, 2012 - Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
April 12, 2012 - 1968: The Year That Rocked The World by Mark Kurlansky
June 14, 2012 - Under the Banner of Heaven by John Krakauer
August 9, 2012 - The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Allison Hoover Bartlett
October 11, 2012 - Our One Book One Community Selection will be announced in August of 2012.
Anyone with questions or comments may contact me at circdesk@lclibs.org

Barbara Neil
Head of Circulation
Lebanon Community Library
Systems Technology Officer
Lebanon County Library System
125 N. 7th St.
Lebanon, PA 17046
(717)273-7624 ext. 202
http://lclibs.org

Archives: