Announcements

A Journey Through History The master puppeteer DB10374 and Postmark Bayou Chene: a novel DB84304 with guest host David Faucheux

NEWSWIRE: A Journey through History to meet on Tuesday December 5, 2017
David Faucheux, author of ‘Across two Novembers: a year in the life of a blind bibliophile’ will co-host our December discussion. He has a keen interest in Historical Fiction and will lead the discussion on the two books he selected listed below.

Whether the puppet theater in 18th century Japan or life in the Louisiana bayous, persons who are blind are major characters. We can compare and contrast how they are portrayed in these very different milieus or with literature in general. 
 
Incidentally, I found the ‘Master Puppeteer quite readable for adults contrary to the NLS designation.
NLS ANNOTATION
The master puppeteer DB10374 or DB55935
Paterson, Katherine. Reading time: 5 hours, 30 minutes.

Read by Gordon Gould.

Historical Fiction

The violent world of the streets and the patterned world of the puppet theater in eighteenth-century Japan frame a lively story involving a young apprentice and a mysterious Robin Hood-like thief. For grades 6-9.

Postmark Bayou Chene: a novel DB84304
Roland, Gwen. Reading time: 8 hours, 5 minutes.

Read by Mare Trevathan.

General

Atchafalaya Basin, Louisiana, 1907. A letter addressed to Hautes-Pyrénées, France, marked undeliverable, arrives at the Bayou Chene post office. That same day locals find a dog, nearly dead, tethered to an empty skiff. The lives of the postmaster's blind daughter and her two friends will soon change dramatically. 2015

Date: Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Time:6:00 p.m. Pacific, 7:00 p.m. Mountain, 8:00 p.m. Central, 9:00 pm. Eastern and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 00:00 GMT